Páginas vistas en total

jueves, 29 de julio de 2010

FIFA submits AFC Asian Cup 2015 bid rook

The Football Federation of Australia (FFA) on Thursday formally handed over its bid book for the AFC Asian Cup 2015 finals at a ceremony here in AFC House. AFC President Mohammed Bin Hammam received the bid book from FFA Chairman Frank Lowy in the presence of AFC Vice President Zhang Jilong, AFC General Secretary Alex Soosay and FFA CEO Ben Buckley.Bin Hammam praised FFA’s commitment to the tournament, highlighting the fact that Mr Lowy and Mr Buckley was the previous night hosting a FIFA World Cup inspection team.“The presence of Chairman Lowy and Mr Buckley, both of who were heavily involved with the inspections, here today proves the enthusiasm and commitment of FFA for the 2015 bid,” said Bin Hammam.

“I would like to thank FFA for their strong interest in hosting AFC’s flagship tournament. “It has been a win-win situation for the AFC and FFA since Australia joined the AFC in 2006. Now we are all reaping the benefits of this association.“I assure them that their bid will have my recommendation when it goes before the AFC Executive Committee.”Australia is the only candidate to bid for the 16th edition of AFC’s flagship tournament for national teams.Mr Lowy said “We at the FFA are dedicated, honoured and privileged to make AFC Asian Cup bigger, better and more successful than the previous editions.“It’s my honour to present the bid book and I can tell you that Australia is excited to host this event at all levels, sporting, government and the general public.

“The AFC Asian Cup will help in realising the AFC President’s dream of Vision Asia.”The AFC Executive Committee is expected to make a decision on the hosting rights in their meeting in January 2011 on the sidelines of AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2011™ Finals to be held in Doha, Qatar from January 7-29.Australia joined AFC from Oceania in 2006 and competed in AFC Asian Cup 2007™, where they reached the quarter-final before bowing out to Japan on penalties. Australia are grouped with Korea Republic, India and Bahrain for the 2011 edition.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario